OP011

Print-it, surprise !

by Morgane Bartoli ,
Juliette Bernachot,
Ronan Deshaies
& Corentin Moussard

Date09/2021
FormatA5
Pages85
BindingArchive
Print techniqueQuadricolor Copy Machine
Copies25
Price 13.99 € + 5.91 € shipping
Buy

While “Print-It, let’s discover the Internet! “, published in March 2019, offered a fanzine about Internet culture and techniques,” Print-It, surprise! “, its sequel, invites the readers to take part in the creation of a procedurally generated fanzine.

In this extension of our research on CSS Print, the user is invited to have a conversation about the integration of the World Wide Web into human life. According to his answers, the computer draws from its database, chooses and alters a picture forming the Internet portrait, which is then printed from web code. The contributor can then leave with a copy of his portrait, while we add it to the layout of the final edition containing all of the generated pages.

During this new adventure into the iconographic world of the web, our new associate Crippy will be the captain as well as the guide for the computer’s emancipation within IRL society. Studying his conclusions will allow us to confront the free will of machines and the unique personality of each human being ; incorporate some randomness into the automated management of digital worlds ; question the progression of dehumanization in artificial intelligence projects and transhuman computerization.

“Print-It, Surprise! “ was conceived during the summer of 2021 and produced on September 10, 11 and 12 during the 6th edition of Multiple Art Days, at the Fiminco Foundation.

MEET CRIPPY !

OP011

Print-it, surprise !

par Morgane Bartoli ,
Juliette Bernachot,
Ronan Deshaies
& Corentin Moussard

Date09/2021
FormatA5
Pages85
ReliureArchive
ImpressionPhotocopieur quadri
Exemplaires25
Prix 13.99 € + 5.91 € shipping
Acheter

Alors que « Print-It, à la découverte d’Internet ! », publié en mars 2019, proposait un fanzine vulgarisant les techniques et la culture Internet, « Print-It, Surprise ! », sa suite, permet à chacun de contribuer à l’élaboration d’un fanzine génératif.

Dans cette prolongation de nos recherches sur la technique du CSS Print, un questionnaire lié à l’intégration du World Wide Web dans la vie humaine est présenté à chaque utilisateur. Selon ses réponses, l’ordinateur puise dans sa banque de données, choisit et altère une image formant son portrait Internet, imprimé sur place. Le contributeur peut alors repartir avec un exemplaire de son portrait, tandis que nous l’ajoutons à la mise en page de l’édition finale regroupant l’intégralité des contributions.

Lors de cette nouvelle aventure dans les méandres iconographiques de la toile, nous avons choisi de laisser la barre à Crippy, capitaine autant que guide de l’émancipation informatique au sein de la société réelle. L’étude de ses conclusions nous permettra de confronter le libre-arbitre des machines face à la personnalité unique de chaque être humain, d’incorporer du hasard dans la gestion automatisé des mondes numériques, d’interroger la déshumanisation à l’œuvre dans les projets d’intelligence artificielle, ou à l’inverse, l’informatisation transhumaine.

« Print-It, Surprise ! » a été imaginé durant l’été 2021 et réalisé les 10,11 et 12 septembre lors de la 6ème édition de Multiple Art Days, à la Fondation Fiminco.

RENCONTREZ CRIPPY !